Coming up in Cable: The Closer

I like screeners. They are fun. Too bad this past week has been filled with painting, mowing, moving and oh yeah changing jobs. But in between re-highlighting my hair and picking out clothes for my first day on the job, I watched the season four opener of The Closer, courtesy of TNT.

Now, this was my first time ever watching The Closer. This is what I knew about it. Kyra Sedgwick plays a cop with a gift, she’s less than one degree away from Kevin Bacon and has a Golden Globe to boot.

For a cop show, it’s above average. I probably would’ve gotten more out of it had I’d known the characters better. But the creepy pyro interaction was steller. The plot was a little telegraphed, but overall, I can see why people love it. Kyra carries the show. While The Closer won’t make my season pass list as I bore quickly with formulaic cop shows, I would be willing to watch as ears only TV or say, a marathon rainy day. I think though my dad would love this show.

Season Four of The Closer premieres Monday, July 14th at 9/8c on TNT.

Leave a comment