SNL Wishes

Because what else is there to talk about on a Friday when there’s no TV on and summer series haven’t kicked up yet?

As a daydreaming writer, one show I’d like to work on for…a month… is SNL. Only a month because I’m sure that’s how long it would take to drain me of all my funny. The host can really make or break a skit. I hate those who blatantly read off the cue cards, but music guests who make fun of themselves are bonus points.

Should be a host every year:

  1. Alec Baldwin
  2. Drew Barrymore
  3. Justin Timberlake

These three slay me every time. Maybe because they can act and aren’t afraid to make a fool of themselves. Omeletville makes me laugh til I cry every single time. Then this is my dream list. My gauge for who would make a good host is not by their resume, but who is naturally funny. Those who are spontaneous and creative when not acting, like when they are being interviewed. I know probably half of these people will never get the call since they won’t have major movies opening anytime soon and we know what a cross promotional junkie NBC is.

  1. John Krasinski
  2. Kristen Bell
  3. James McAvoy
  4. Peyton Manning- best sports guest ever.
  5. Kyle Chandler
  6. Zachary Levi
  7. Kristin Chenoweth
  8. Neil Patrick Harris
  9. Beckie Newton & Michael Urie (together)
  10. Edward James Olmos- even though he has a reputation of being very serious, I think that would make him funnier.

Okay who did I miss? I’m just tired of stuffy movie actors who read off the cue cards who know they are going to get shown up by Kristen Wiig anyways.

5 responses to “SNL Wishes

  1. LOVE your list.
    PLEASE may they hire Krasinski and McAvoy to headline. And YES on the Peyton, he is hysterical! Yes also to NPH and Z Levi. I’d also love to see what Michael Emerson could do. We all know him as this creepy brilliant character, but I’ll bet there’s a heart of gold under there, and we all know he can be FUNNY.

  2. John Krasinski-host
    Kristen Chenoweth-musical guest

    Or vice versa.

  3. Kristin Chenoweth- she could double as the host/musical guest. Though I think I would almost rather see her in the host role. We know she is a fabulously talented singer, but she can have some amazing comedic timing when she wants to. Would love to see her allowed to showcase it.

  4. I hope the whole hosts reading cue cards wasn’t directed at Christopher Walkin. Now there is a guy who needs to host every season.

    As for someone new to host (aside from ones listed) sign me up for a Sheldon guest host.

  5. Pingback: Oh, to book for SNL « tv on the brain

Leave a Reply

