Accent? What Accent?


If you haven’t watched the youtube video explaining what the strike is about, please do.

As a Texan, I am usually offended by the butchering of a Southern accent (*cough*Heroes*cough*). But I spent ten years living in Florida, so occasionally my usual draw wavers with a little old New Yorker/East coast standard flair. All this to say, accents catch my attention.

So I started a tally in my head of current TV actors who are hiding their own native dialect to sound American.

Now, leaving out ALL the Canadians, because goodness, I don’t think I could catch even a good percentage of them, I wrote up this list.

Brits, who play American:

  • Hugh Laurie, House
  • Damian Lewis, Life
  • Matthew Rhys, Brothers & Sisters
  • Michelle Ryan, Bionic Woman
  • Anne Friel, Pushing Daisies
  • Jamie Bamber, Battlestar Galactica

Aussies, who play American:

  • Yvonnes Strahovski, Chuck
  • Alex O’Loughlin, Moonlight
  • Rachel Griffiths, Brothers & Sisters
  • Dominic Purcell, (Brit born, Aussie raised) Prison Break

Brits, who get to keep their accents:

  • James Callis, Battlestar Galactica
  • Parminder Nagra, ER
  • Jim Dale, (voiceover), Pushing Daisies
  • Chris Vance,(Honestly, I’m not sure. IMDb says he’s a Brit but Wikipedia says he acted a lot in Australia…and his character is Australian) Prison Break
  • *Simon Cowell and all the other obligatory British reality judges who followed his model…

Scots, who get to keep their accents:

  • Craig Ferguson, The Late Late Show
  • Ashley Jensen, Ugly Betty

Special recognition to Naveen Andrews (Lost) who I’m told is a Brit playing an Iraqi, but still sounds British…

And very special recognition to David Anders (Heroes, Alias) who is NOT British but actually from Oregon…

Let me know if I missed any and if you have any thoughts on who sounds the best or who needs to go back to school. But why are there so few British characters on American TV? I should just move to London…

3 responses to “Accent? What Accent?

  1. I feel so stupid that I would never have guessed that David Anders was American. And, he’s 26?!? The perfect age for me!

  2. I heart Ashley Jensen.

    Dr. House would be even sexier with the accent. Perhaps too sexy.

  3. My former coworker was class of 05. Whoop!

Leave a Reply

