A Must Emmy

Random TV thoughts:
~ I TiNoed Damages although I’m wondering if I’ll even like it, considering I’m not into any of the other FX series.
~I also TiNoed Kyle XY, so eventually I’ll watch it. But it won’t be before Sunday because this weekend is my own personal Survivor – like competition that I’m hosting for friends. If I get any particularly funny video, I’ll see if I can youtube link it later.

Now to the real thoughts.
Tina Fey deserves that Emmy.

There was a debate brought up in a recent TV Guide podcast between Matt and Michael if comedy Emmys should be given to actors who are funny or act well in funny shows. Matt said something to the effect that Tina was basically playing herself and to that I say, Who Cares. I apparently find the straight man of every comedy the funniest (Jason Bateman, Kristen Bell) and sure Alec Baldwin is a scene stealer. I still hate on the 30 Rock pilot but the second half of the season got funny exponentially.

For the same reasons I watch SNL through Weekend Update and then turn it off, Tina Fey represents a smart and witty humor that is rarely presented on television. Her line delivery alone is enough to win the Emmy.

In my two trips to California and the WB Studio lot, I never really wanted to speak to the TV stars I saw. But if I spot Tina Fey in NY on my September vacation, I will throw myself at her feet and beg for a job.

I love that her reaction to the nomination was “This is an outrage!” But look at her competition.

BEST COMEDY ACTRESS
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “New Adventures of Old Christine”
America Ferrera, “Ugly Betty”
Tina Fey, “30 Rock”
Felicity Huffman, “Desperate Housewives”
Mary-Louise Parker, “Weeds”

Felicity already has an Emmy. Julia Louis-Dreyfus won last year. I love America Ferrera and Ugly Betty, but she’s not the funniest character. Marc, Wilhelmina and Amanda are. Plus who needs to see her cry again? Really? Let’s get a hilarious acceptance speech from Tina Fey!

Leave a Reply

