Can’t get you out of my head

There are a lot of great TV theme songs and many I could sing along too. But here’s my list of theme songs that I can’t fastforward through no matter what.

The Unit– This hybrid military chant makes me want to bust a move or a few dozen pushups. The original Marine Corps chant “Fired Up… Feels Good” is going to be my new workout music. You can catch The Unit on CBS’s Innertube.

The Unit credits on Youtube


Veronica Mars– Season three launched the new remixed version of the Dandy Warhol’s “We Used to be Friends”. It took several viewings for the purist in me to like it, but it fits the tone of the show better and leaves you craving more of the song. Veronica Mars is FINALLY downloadable on iTunes AND free streaming on CW’s website.

Veronica Mars credits on YouTube


Dead Like Me– I know it’s been off the air for a while, but I’m catching up thanks to Sci Fi reruns. For a show about death, these are the funniest opening credits and, if I had a cool enough phone, I would love to have the song as my ringtone.

Dead Like Me credits on YouTube


How I Met Your Mother– No words are needed when you’re hanging with friends. The best part of this theme is that it doesn’t take two minutes of airtime away from the 2nd best comedy on TV (Behind The Office of course.) According to Wikipedia, “The title theme, “Hey Beautiful”, is performed by The Solids, who are fronted by series creators Craig Thomas and Carter Bays.”

HIMYM credits on YouTube


The Office– It’s the Scrantones everyday song with a dash of hope. If I had Jim Halpert as a coworker, I’d hum a little tune on the way to work too. I’m thinking of starting a charity in that everyone with an obnoxious ringtone can download The Office theme for free instead. I think the world would be a happier place.

The Office credits (after a small Dwight moment) on YouTube


Battlestar Galactica– Haunting and chilling, this tribal prayer conveys both the hopelessness of humanity and the courage to keep fighting. Straight from IMDB: “The Season 2 opening theme song is a famous Hindu mantra, the Gayatri Mantra, taken from the Rig Veda. The words are “OM bhûr bhuvah svah tat savitur varçnyam bhargô dçvasya dhîmahi dhiyô yô nah pracôdayât”, which may be translated in various ways but means approximately “may we attain that excellent glory of Savitar the God / so May he stimulate our prayers”.” You can catch up BSG thanks to iTunes or read my recaps on Give Me My Remote.com.

Battlestar Galactica credits (from S2) on YouTube

2 responses to “Can’t get you out of my head

  1. The Unit’s theme is my all-time favorite theme song. As much as I love the original Marine Corps version, I wish there was a full-length of the remixed Unit version.

  2. The Office theme song is the best, but 24’s theme is a close second. Everyone is familiar with that one even if they don’t watch the show.

Leave a Reply

