Late Nights

Points of Interest:
1) GMMR’s excellent interivew with David Denman. Check out Part 1 and Part 2.
2) Neptune Pirate Radio’s podcast interview with Kyle Gallner. My favorite part is Kyle’s first reacion when he read the season finale.

What does sleep feel like? Remind me, again. During college I went to bed at all hours of the night. Now that I work, I wish I still had mid afternoon naps to get through the day. In those late nights I fell in love with late night talk shows. Specifically Letterman and Conan.

Why I love Letterman
He doesn’t care what people say about him. And says so. He’s like the underdog. He asks ridiculous questions to his guests. He doesn’t repeat his punchline three times in a row. But flat out he’s just funnier. The top ten lists never cease to make me smile. I crack up when he throws junk off the roof or sprays unsuspecting people walking by. I love Rupert’s disdain. I love when they mess with the Starbucks across the street. And I can’t explain it but I have an unnatural fascination with “Will it Sink or Will it Float?”

I guess I have a warped sense of humor that likes sarcastic randomness. Which is why I go out of my way to switch the channel for Conan.

Why I love Conan
“In the Year 2000” makes me laugh every single time. I think La Bamba’s singing gets me giggling to start. Like Letterman, he takes a self-deprecating tone that makes you just want to hug him. I love when he intentionally insults other countries just to get hate mail from them. Getting Norway’s President re-elected was hysterical. I can’t wait for him to take over The Tonight Show so I won’t have to stay up as late to watch. Hopefully TPTB won’t make him completely change his format. I’ll have to flip back and forth between Letterman though.

This week I’ve stayed up past Conan almost everynight. I’m going to a writing conference in Austin and I’ve been getting things ready so I can pitch my book to agents! If all goes well, maybe I’ll be on Letterman or Conan in the near future.

Leave a Reply

