VM^3+ CW = LoVe

My heart goes out to Everwood lovers. I too once felt love for Amy and Ephram, but then I just kept forgetting to watch. Smallville hasn’t been keeping my attention either, so I’ll blame it on that.

But tonight, I celebrate season three of the best written show on television. I am stoked to see the three mysteries. and after a lousy day at work, Rob Thomas, please, if you need or would like another writer to mentor, I’m there. My writing ability only qualifies me to clean his toilets, but it never hurts to ask right?

The S2 Finale

I’ve read the blogs, the reviews, the articles and soaked it all in. There are two basic camps of opinions about the finale. Some are so in LoVe, Rob & crew could do no wrong. Others feel underwhelmed, citing the shock of last year’s reveal and complaints of “piling on”.

So here’s my two cents. Movies last at most three hours. The story and characters are confined. Scenes are maybe rewritten that day to fix dialogue. But more than likely one to three people work on a screenplay, have it 95% done by production and the budget is set. Newspaper and magazine articles have shorter deadlines, one writer and rarely connect back to previous articles. Novel writing pales in comparison. In a novel you have all the time in the world to get it just right.

TV writing has got to be the most difficult writing across the board. End of story. Not only do you have over twenty hours of story in a year, but the characters are fluid. They change because it takes ten or eleven episodes in to determine what your actors can handle. Not to mention budget constraints. Shows with large casts can’t use every character everytime. Or if they do that limits the special effects.

Missed opportunities – I think this complaint was in reference to no huge aftermath of the alterna prom drunk Logan spill all. That this amazingly, powerful (should be EMMY inducing) scene had no follow through. The fallout of a fluid story. They are writing at least two episodes ahead while filming. And yes, KB and JD rock every scene, but shoot. Who could’ve known HOW amazing until they saw the finished product?…two to three weeks later…

Contrived plot points – So it doesn’t make complete sense for Veronica to go up on the roof to meet “Mac”. So the complete exposition of how the crash went down is just for the audience’s sake. So what? In the great scheme of things, I choose character over story. I needed to see Veronica cry and scream and beg. I needed to see her find comfort from Logan. These scenes gave closure, not only to season two, but to season one as well. Imagine this scene going the other way: great shocking reveal but barely any reaction from Veronica? Would that really have been better? Yes, season one had both. But if it had been exactly the same as season one, I would’ve felt empty without growth in the characters. Kinda like watching multiple episodes of Law & Order.

Plot holes– The only way to NOT have plot holes in a television series to completely write the whole thing ahead of time. There’s no possible way for ten writers working year round to keep track of every single detail of every single character WHILE coming up with new, witty dialogue, clever jokes, dramatic obstacles and believeable character growth. I’ve spent three years on my novel and while I deem it complete, I still have plot holes I’m having trouble fixing. At least I can go back and fix it.

Piling on– So Beav, you were molested, blew up a bus, blew up Woody’s plane, killing Keith in front of Veronica. Oh and by the way, you also were the one that raped her at Shelly Pomroy’s party. Rob Thomas, you rock my face off. I love, love, LOVE it. Pile on more if you can please. The more, the better. I guess this my personal preference. But understand that until the last scene of that last episode, Veronica will never be happy. And imaging Rob & crew, she probably won’t be then either. The more drama in Veronica’s life, the better the show will be. Not to mention it’s not repeating something already done on television. I begin each novel idea the same way. I think of something cool I would love to see happen. Then I decide who the characters are involved in this cool event. I write the first chapter and then think, “but how will it end? What twist can I give it so it will be fresh, new, exciting and unexpected to the reader?” Maybe that’s not Rob’s method, but character wise, the more obstacles, the better. Beav is really the rapist? Wicked awesome twist.

The finale in a word: Bittersweet.

Veronica finally has closure on Lilly’s death and can start college with a fresh outlook. She gets, while maybe not admitting, that Logan truly cares. Whether they can both grow up a bit and make it work is yet to be seen, but for now, really cute. It was moving. It was powerful. It showcased incredible acting. It was beautiful.

Kristen Bell and Jason Dohring deserve nods for individual acting but it’ll be a crime against television if the show as a whole is not included in the best drama category.

Leave a Reply

